JT Liquides ioniques et Matériaux

Technical conference on ionic liquids and materials

Axelera partnered with Trimatec to organize a technical conference on ionic liquids and materials. The event, held on Monday, April 4, 2016 at the Solvay chemical plant in Saint-Fons and attended by 47 people, was an initiative of GDR LIPS (a research consortium for ionic liquids and polymers).

Objective: to highlight the potential uses of ionic liquids in polymers.

Academic researchers from labs like IMP (Polymer Engineering Lab) and Nantes University’s Chemistry Department presented their findings in areas like engineered textile threads, new battery separators, and biopolymers.

Industrial R&D professionals from Solvay-Cytec and Hutchinson also presented the benefits of using ionic liquids in materials.

These materials also appear to have a promising future in other market applications, as explained by a representative of Bertin Technologies. The company developed an absorption heat pump using ionic liquid. ICBMS (the Institute for Molecular and Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry) presented research on ways to use ionic liquids in biocatalysis.

INERIS (France’s risk prevention institute) gave a presentation on the safety of ionic liquids and the necessary precautions to prevent accidents and impacts on ecosystems. The institute also addressed how to optimize the performance of ionic liquids for various applications.


Do you have an idea for an R&D project on the topic of ionic liquids?

Get in touch with Axelera! We can help you identify the right partners and sources of financing for your project.


Would you like to learn more about ionic liquids?

GDR LIPS is organizing an ionic liquids summer session from June 29 to July 1, 2016.

13/04/2016
JT Liquides ioniques et Matériaux

Journée technique « Liquides ioniques & Matériaux »

A l’initiative du GDR LIPS (Groupement de Recherche Liquides Ioniques et Polymères) et organisée par le pôle AXELERA en collaboration avec TRIMATEC, la journée technique « Liquides ioniques & Matériaux » s’est tenue le lundi 4 avril 2016 sur le site St-Fons Chimie de Solvay et a réuni 47 participants.

L’objectif de cette journée était d’informer sur le potentiel d’utilisation des liquides ioniques dans le domaine des matériaux polymères.

Dans ce cadre, des exemples de travaux de recherche ont été présentés par des laboratoires de recherche académique comme l’IMP (Ingénierie des Matériaux Polymères) et le Département Chimie de l’Université de Nantes, sur les développements de fils textiles techniques, de nouveaux séparateurs de batteries ou de bio-polymères.

L’intérêt des liquides ioniques dans les matériaux a également été illustré par deux industriels : Solvay-Cytec et Hutchinson.

Ces produits semblent également avoir un avenir prometteur dans bien d’autres applications comme nous l’ont montré Bertin Technologies au travers de l’exemple d’un développement de pompe à chaleur par absorption avec liquide ionique, et l’ICBMS (Institut de Chimie et Biochimie Moléculaires et Supramoléculaires) qui explore les  façons d’utiliser les liquides ioniques en bio-catalyse.

Enfin, la présentation de l’INERIS a permis aux participants d’avoir un éclairage sur la sécurité des liquides ioniques  et des précautions à prendre pour limiter  les  risques  d’accident  et  les  impacts  sur  les écosystèmes,  mais  aussi  d’optimiser  leurs  performances  en  fonction  des applications visées.

 

Vous avez une idée de projet en lien avec les liquides ioniques ?

Contactez le pôle AXELERA qui vous aidera à identifier le ou les bon(s) partenaire(s) et les outils de financement adéquats.

La thématique « Liquides ioniques » vous intéresse ?Le GDR LIPS vous propose de participer à une école thématique du 29 juin au 1er juillet 2016.